Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

8200. Suffolk County

 Record Group
Identifier: 8200
Suffolk County, established by the Massachusetts General Court on May 10, 1643, initially included Boston, Roxbury, Dorchester, Dedham, Braintree, Weymouth, Hingham and Hull. In 1793, most of the original Suffolk County except for Boston and Chelsea split off and became Norfolk County. In 1803, Hingham and Hull split off and joined Plymouth County. In the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, the annexation of adjacent towns to Boston increased the size of Suffolk County. Suffolk County includes Boston, Chelsea, Winthrop and Revere. Boston is the seat of Suffolk County.